Causa Nostrae Laetitiae

Causa Nostrae Laetitiae

The Diocese of Chikwawa raised as suffragan see of the Archdiocese of Blantyre by Pope Paul VI on 22nd March 1965.

It is found in the southern tip of Malawi comprising of Nsanje,Chikwawa and parts of Thyolo and Blantyre.

It covers an area of 7,676 square kilometers.

Bishop Peter Musikuwa

Right Rev Peter Musikuwa is the 3rd and current bishop of the diocese appointed on 16th April 2003 and consecrated on 28th June 2003.

The vicar general for the diocese is Fr Cosmas Chasukwa. Fr Alfeo Boloma is the bishops’s secretary.

The diocese has 14 parishes which form 4 deaneries.

A cross section of priests.

The first bishop for the diocese was Rt Rev Eugenius FJ Vroemen and was succeeded by Rt Rev Felix E Mkhori. (May their souls rest in peace)

The diocese only has diocesan priests and women religious congregations including a lay missionary grouping.

The patron saint is Our Lady the cause of our Joy (Causa Nostrae Letitiae)