This is body of elected council leaders from all the parishes that represent the lay faithful in the diocese. Its mission is to represent Christ and the Church, bearing witness to him according to gifts given and carry out Christ work of reconciliation, fellowship and enhance god governance of the church.

The Laity Council organises and lead in the training of lay members so that each member recognises their call to the mission of the church, specifically in the fellowship of Jesus Christ. The Laity trains the lay members to utilize their God-given abilities and skills to extend God’s kingdom, promote unity and harmony, and strive for the spiritual and developmental growth in the holy catholic church.


  1. to instill in the membership of the church love and appreciate the history, tradition and principles of the church
  2. to advocate respect and loyalty at all times to constituted authority and leadership
  3. to encourage the laity to support the total program of the church in local congregational committees and through conferences and the connections in events organization and functions
  4. to provide training in Christian stewardship which causes lay members to recognize that the connotation of stewardship addresses more than giving money

Within its structure, there are different subcommittees based on different lay apostolates.


Mr George Washingtone Mkutu-Chairperson,

Mr Felix Kamiza-Secretary

Mrs Mercy Chikwangwala-treasurer.

Currently, the council is working on a 10-year strategic plan that will lead the organization of the laity council to achieve the desired goals of self-reliance, good coordination and enhancement of good governance of the lay associates in the church.